Our Campus

Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel

Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel

at Dominican Convent

This contemporary building serves as a sacred space for our Sisters to transition from the busy world of everyday life to quiet, contemplative prayer and meditation. It is the place where the community gathers daily for Eucharist and communal prayer.

Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel is one of three buildings that sit on the grounds of Dominican Convent. With its striking, soaring shape, it stands before the Convent like a magnificent work of sculpture. Adjoining Dominican Convent, the Chapel’s close proximity makes it easy for our Sisters to transition from work to communal prayer. The building was formally dedicated by Edward Cardinal Egan on September 10, 2001.

Positioned throughout the Chapel are inspiring works of art, many designed by our talented Sisters, which pay homage to our history and Dominican heritage. Where possible, historical items dating back to the early 1900s have been reclaimed and repurposed from Sacred Heart Chapel, our Motherhouse chapel from 1914-1967.

Upon entering the Chapel, one is struck by the lofty ceiling and the warmth of the wood. The many clear windows throughout the Chapel bathe our worship space in natural light, connecting outer and inner space. The custom designed stained-glass windows project ever changing patterns and colors onto the walls, bringing joy and warmth to the room.

Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel stands as a testimony to the faith, hope, and dreams of the Dominican Sisters of Sparkill. In this sacred space where Eucharist is celebrated daily, our Sisters give thanks and praise to God and offer prayers for the needs of people throughout the world.

Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel congregation

Take a moment to view the beautiful architecture, stained glass, and furnishings of Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel.

Scroll to Top